The Islanders by Meg Mitchell Moore

The Islanders by Meg Mitchell Moore

Published June 11, 2019 – William Morrow

Review copy from the publisher

My take:

The Islanders is a novel that, for me, is a good summer staycation read. Meaning, if I can’t vacation on an island I’d like to read about people who can!

Meg Mitchell Moore’s characters are people who have their reasons for being on Block Island. Joy, a divorced mom of a young teen, is a year-round resident whose business is going through a rough patch. On top of that, her daughter who used to be so easy going is now acting like a normal, emotional teen who doesn’t want to tell her mother everything.

Anthony is hiding out on the island hoping not to be recognized after a very public controversy that cost him his marriage, changed his relationship with his parents, and he hasn’t seen his young son in weeks.

Lu and her family are spending the summer in a rented house (courtesy of her in-laws). Her husband is a physician who is at the hospital more than he’s with his family. That leaves Lu as full time parent to two young sons while dealing with her judgmental mother-in-law.

Personal conflicts for all abound as they deal with family dynamics, secrets, and the truth. The epilogue wrapped things up neatly. It was an interesting trip to the island for this staycationer.


 

10 thoughts on “The Islanders by Meg Mitchell Moore

  1. Glad you really enjoyed it! I have this one also, but not read yet. And I enjoyed her previous book about the retired couple with all their adult kids coming home again. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here.

    Like

  2. I’ve read other books by this author and liked them. I’ll watch for this one at my library. Looks like a good one for summer reading.

    Like

Comments are closed.