The Sisters of Blue Mountain by Karen Katchur

  • Title:  The Sisters of Blue Mountain
  • Author:  Karen Katchur
  • Genre:  Mystery
  • Pages:  320
  • Published:  April 2017 – St. Martin’s Press
  • Source:  Publisher

My take:  The Sisters of Blue Mountain is the story of Linnet and Myna. The sisters have been estranged for several years but are brought together when an unusual event occurs in their hometown.

Myna is a college professor in Florida and Linnet runs a B&B in the mountains of Pennsylvania. The inn is situated near a waterway that snow geese frequent on their migration each year. It’s a tourist draw that brings many people to the inn. This year something odd happened with the geese that has a profound effect on the town and the local businesses, including Linnet’s inn. At the same time, Myna comes home to see her relatives and to take a break from a relationship in Florida. The sisters will need to deal with some unfinished business that comes to light when a certain reporter comes to investigate the snow geese incident.

I thought The Sisters of Blue Mountain was an interesting mystery that grew to include more than the case of the snow geese. Linnet and Myna have secrets and are forced to come to terms with the truth. There’s also a murder that needs to be solved. Karen Katchur packed a lot into a few pages that seemed to turn themselves after a while. As you would expect all is wrapped up neatly by the last page. I enjoyed this unique mystery and look forward to reading more from the author.


 

13 thoughts on “The Sisters of Blue Mountain by Karen Katchur

    • Even if I live to be 100 (with good eyes) I don’t think I’ll get around to reading all the books on my TBR list 😀

      Like

  1. I love the cover on this one so I’m glad to see a positive review. It sounds really good and I like all the mystery elements as well as the story of the sisters. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.