One Wish by Robyn Carr

  • One Wish (Feb24)Title:  One Wish
  • Series:  Thunder Point #7
  • Author:  Robyn Carr
  • Genre:  Contemporary Romance
  • Published:  February 24, 2015 – Mira
  • Source:  Publisher

Synopsis:  Grace Dillon was a champion figure skater until she moved to Thunder Point to escape the ruthless world of fame and competition. And though she’s proud of the quiet, self-sufficient life she’s created running a successful flower shop, she knows something is missing. Her life could use a little excitement. 

In a community where there are few eligible singles, high school teacher Troy Headly appoints himself Grace’s fun coach. When he suggests a little companionship with no strings attached, Grace is eager to take him up on his offer, and the two enjoy…getting to know each other. 

But things get complicated when Grace’s past catches up with her, and she knows that’s not what Troy signed up for. Faced with losing her, Troy realizes Grace is more than just a friend with benefits. He’s determined to help her fight for the life she always wished for but never believed she could have—and maybe they can find real love along the way.  (publisher)

My take:  I think one of the things I enjoy most about Robyn Carr’s small town romances is that she understands regular people. They’re people probably like most of the people I (or any reader) know.  The Thunder Point series is one I love going back to whenever there’s a new book. It’s always a comfort read and I like to see what characters from previous books are up to as well as meet new ones.

I loved the story of Grace and Troy, two secondary characters from earlier books. They never gave each other a second thought – until they did. They have so much in common that they seem perfect for each other. And then things start happening that Grace has to explain. She’s not exactly who people thought she was. There’s much more to the local flower shop owner than anyone would have imagined. Will the people in her Thunder Point life, especially Troy, be able to deal with the “new” Grace?

One Wish is about knowing that it’s not what you don’t have that’s important, but more what you do have. And those things don’t always come with a price. The most valuable are priceless.

Not every thread of this story is tied up by the last page. I like that continuity into the next book and look forward to reading it. If you like small town romance you need to read the Thunder Point series.

14 thoughts on “One Wish by Robyn Carr

  1. I do want to start reading this series at some point…I have one book from the Virgin River series, the first one, but haven’t read it yet. I like the feel of small town romances and the characters that seem like people we know. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I have started the books in this series yet. I think I’ve read all the Virgin River books. At one point, those were just the thing I needed to read. Maybe I’m saving this bunch for just such a time. I do love Carr’s communities, people, and ongoing storylines.

    Like

  3. Mary, this book from the Thunder Point series sounds like the perfect comfort read for a winter evening, to be read with a cup of hot tea. I enjoyed your “take” on this romance.

    Like

  4. I’ve heard a lot about this author but somehow have never read her. I’ve got the first 2 in the Thunderpoint series and am hoping to get to at least the first one in March with a TBR challenge I’m doing. Thanks for sharing! You’ve gotten me excited about starting this series!

    Like

    • Me, too, Diana. I may even like this a bit more (something I never thought I’d say because I loved Virgin River!). Maybe it’s the older characters and how they’re portrayed. When I think about it, though, they were portrayed in a good way in the VR series too.

      Like

Comments are closed.