Slimmer: The New Mediterranean Way To Lose Weight by Harry Papas

Title:  Slimmer: The New Mediterranean Way To Lose Weight

Author:  Harry Papas

Genre:  Health/Diets and Weight

Published:  2012 – Turner Publishing Company

About:  (from the book flap) In just one year, Harry Papas gained 110 pounds. Then he lost it all for life. Papas, a certified dietician in Greece, shed the pounds by creating a simple yet revolutionary nutrition plan: a delicious, low-fat Mediterranean diet coupled with the self-awareness he needed to combat the triggers that contributed to his weight gain.

My take:  Harry Papas’ diet plan is very readable and seems extremely easy to follow. It involves a 3 cycle plan with daily menus (and the option to switch out choices). Each cycle lasts twenty-one days and includes a few “free days” that allow one to “enjoy a favorite food at lunch or dinner that is not normally considered a diet choice”.

I’ve marked several recipes to try and have convinced the members of our household to give this plan a try. Papas explains all the health benefits of the Mediterranean diet and suggests baby steps in making changes. The food choices all look good to me. I’m a fan of greek yogurt, red wine, olive oil, vegetables, lean meats, whole grains. Toss in a few “free days” and I’m on board!

Papas stresses the need for moderate physical activity. Even a little each day will help with weight loss. He also addresses the  importance of using quality ingredients, eating few or no processed foods, and most importantly (in my opinion):

Remember that you’re human: at some point you may become side-tracked….When it comes to food, no one is ever perfect. You cannot be perfect everywhere and all the time. Just try the best you can.

p. 228 Slimmer

Papas included dozens of recipes. I highlighted one a few weeks ago:  Mediterranean Chickpea Salad. I think anyone interested in losing weight or just eating a healthier diet should look for this book. And I’m serious about giving the plan a try. I’ll update before the end of the year!

Read more about Slimmer here: www.theslimmerbook.com

You can buy it at most book stores. I noticed yesterday (June 22) the Kindle and Nook editions are $2.99 but I don’t know how long that price will hold.

Source:  FSB Associates

Disclosure:  See sidebar. I was not compensated for my review.