Dangerous Desires by Dee Davis

Dangerous Desires

After surviving a horrible childhood, a few years in a Columbian prison, and more time under the thumb of a crime lord, Madeline Reynard becomes the rescue subject of A-Tac (American Tactical Intelligence Command) – an off the books arm of the CIA.  She has information that can help the CIA, hurt the Columbian crime group, and may just get her killed unless A-Tac succeeds in their mission.  The A-Tac team is comprised of several highly-skilled professionals (covert operations, IT, ordnance, communications, etc.).  The author reveals enough about each A-Tac member to get a feel for their personality as well as their importance to the team.

The person most involved in Madeline’s rescue is Drake Flynn.  He’s the confident and capable guy anyone would want on their side. Even though he has questions about her connections to known criminals he keeps the mission his priority.  My favorite part of the novel was the escape of Drake and Madeline from the jungle to a safe house a day’s travel away on foot and small boat.  The action is fast-paced and had me turning pages long past my bedtime.

Davis’s action scenes are exciting.  Her descriptive writing placed me in the drama which I loved because sometimes when I’m reading suspense novels I get lost in the details. Davis had me following right through the heart-stopping conclusion.  If you like your romantic suspense heavy on the suspense  I recommend  Dangerous Desires.

Review copy from Hachette Book Group