More Than You Know by Penny Vincenzi

Title:  More Than You Know

Author:  Penny Vincenzi

Genre:  Fiction

Published:  April 2012 – Doubleday

My take:  The setting is (mostly) London. The time is late 1950s to early 1970s.  Eliza Fullerton-Clark is old money, Matt Shaw is no money. Matt is an old basic training buddy of Eliza’s brother Charles. They first meet when Charles and Matt are on leave. There’s an attraction but, given their different backgrounds, neither Eliza nor Matt take it seriously. They meet some time later and find the attraction cannot be ignored. They marry but, as much as Matt loves Eliza, he can’t get rid of the chip on his shoulder where the class difference is concerned. That remains an underlying issue in their marriage.

They start a family and get on with life. Given the time period, you can imagine the issues that pop up: women working outside the home, abortion, drugs, etc. Vincenzi works them all into the story of Matt and Eliza as well as the secondary characters.

More Than You Know is an emotional and entertaining story of the Fullerton-Clark and Shaw families and their friends during a time of great change.

Note: Vincenzi did a great service for her readers by providing a Cast of Characters at the beginning. Without it, it would have been easy to forget who each character was and how he/she fit into the story.

Source:  Doubleday

Disclosure:  See sidebar. I was not compensated for my review.

28 thoughts on “More Than You Know by Penny Vincenzi

    • Great summer read, Diane! And, at 600 pages, you’ll be glad you have the ebook! I had the paper arc – a real brick of a book 🙂

      Like

  1. This is definitely the year that I will read another Vincenzi novel. I read one a few years and ago and have meant to return to her books. They remind of those family sagas of the ’80’s – Barbara Taylor Bradford, Susan Howatch, and others.

    Like

  2. I love Penny Vincenzi and have read a few of her books, with a few others on my shelf just waiting for me. It sounds as if this is an excellent read with a lot of layers, which is just what I have come to expect from Vincenzi. So glad that you loved it. I am going to be on the lookout for it!

    Like

    • I would like to read one of her earlier novels to compare it to this book. I’m not sure I’d say I loved it but I liked it enough to read all 600 pages 😀

      Like

  3. I’ve never read any of her books! The cast of characters is something that I wish more authors would incorporate into their books when they know they have a lot of people running through the pages!

    Like

  4. My sister is a big fan of this author and yet has never passed on any of her books for me to read, I think I’ll have to put that right as if this is typical of her books I’m sure I’ll enjoy them.

    Like

    • Hi Betty, thanks for your comment. This is the only book by Vincenzi I’ve read so I looked up The Decision and it looks like it IS the same book. I wonder if the British title is The Decision and they changed it for the US publication. Heaven knows why they’d do that!

      Like

Comments are closed.