Book Beginnings on Fridays

Please join Rose City Reader every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author.

♦  ♦  ♦

I’m reading Next to Love by Ellen Feldman. I’m about 50 pages in. I haven’t gotten to the real meat of the story yet but so far, I’m enjoying it.

For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress, and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War II and its aftermath.  (from the Goodreads synopsis)

July 17, 1944

In the year and a half Babe Huggins has worked for Western Union, she has been late only once before. Maybe that’s why in the months to come she will occasionally persuade herself that some premonition delayed her this morning.