A Wednesday Post

So, this hasn’t happened often over the almost ten years I’ve blogged about books. I don’t have a review to post this week! And here’s why. I’m celebrating with family this week. My nephew is getting married on Friday and family is starting to arrive. Some are staying at my house so I’ve been in prep mode. Not much reading going on. I’ll be back next week with a review (or two, we’ll see).


 

Blog Doppelganger?

Well, not exactly.  It has come to my attention (thank you, Staci) that someone has a blog called Bookfan Mary.  It’s hosted at Blogger (I moved to WordPress from Blogger eight months ago).  My blog’s name is Bookfan but my URL is similar to what it was at Blogger.

So, please do me a favor and check the URL in your reader to be sure you’re not leaving comments at the other blog thinking it’s mine.  I think this issue may effect people who use Blogger because the blog posts came through Staci’s Blogger dashboard.

My  URL is https://bookfanmary.wordpress.com

I realize that if you’re reading this it means you have my new URL but just in case you didn’t delete my old Blogspot URL when I moved, you may want to now.

Thank you so much.  I hope this clears up any confusion.

Friday, February 4th is a birthday of sorts – it marks three years since I started Bookfan.  Usually I just mention the date but this year I’d like to pass along a few of the books I’ve bought, read, or have been sent for review in the past year or so.  If you’re interested please click here (giveaway now closed)  for more information. No need to spread the word – I’d like to keep this as a way to thank my regular readers.

Sunday Summary – May 16

Jean Kwok, author of Girl In Translation


Is it really Sunday already? I read a couple of good books last week (see below). I also found Secret Keepers for my WoW pick – it’s being released in paperback. I think it looks terrific! It is set to go on sale May 25.

One highlight of my week was seeing Jean Kwok read from her wonderful debut novel Girl in Translation. I won a giveaway of an arc and am so happy to recommend this book. Ms. Kwok spoke for an hour – she read 3 sections from the book and then talked about her background. She shared that the main character in her novel, Kimberly, is based on a combination of Ms. Kwok and her brother. She ended with a Q&A and then signed copies of her book.
If Ms. Kwok visits a bookstore near you I encourage you to go meet her and listen to her story. I was happy to learn that she is working on her next novel. It is very different from Girl in Translation but it sounds good. I’d like to offer my ARC of Girl in Translation to one of my readers who lives in the US. I’m not publicizing this giveaway. Just let me know in a comment if you’d like to be entered. It ends at 10pm eastern on Monday, May 17 (that’s tomorrow). I’ll announce the winner on Tuesday so check back!



This week’s Waiting on Wednesday pick:
Secret Keepers (Paperback) by Mindy Friddle
Secret Keepers by Mindy Friddle


Books read/reviewed:
Knit in Comfort Girl in Translation
Knit in Comfort by Isabel Sharpe
Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok

Waiting On Wednesday – May 5




The House on Oyster Creek

The House On Oyster Creek
A Novel
Heidi Jon Schmidt

Pub. date: June 1, 2010

Sensitive but practical, Charlotte Tradescome has come to accept the reticence of her older, work-obsessed husband Henry. Still, she hopes to create a life for their three-year-old daughter. So when Henry inherits a home on Cape Cod, she, Henry, and little Fiona move from their Manhattan apartment to this seaside community. Charlotte sells off part of Tradescome Point, inadvertently fueling the conflict between newcomers and locals. Many townspeople easily dismiss Charlotte as a “washashore.” A rare exception is Darryl Stead, an oyster farmer with modest dreams and an open heart, with whom Charlotte feels the connection she’s been missing. Ultimately he transforms the way she sees herself, the town, and the people she loves…

Waiting On Wednesday – March 24


Husband and Wife By Leah Stewart

Publish date: May 5, 2010 by Harper

In this new novel by the celebrated author of The Myth of You and Me, a young mother discovers that her husband’s novel about infidelity might be drawn from real life.

Sarah Price is thirty-five years old. She doesn’t feel as though she’s getting older, but there are some noticeable changes: a hangover after two beers, the stray gray hair, and, most of all, she’s called “Mom” by two small children. Always responsible, Sarah traded her MFA for a steady job, which allows her husband, Nathan, to write fiction. But Sarah is happy and she believes Nathan is too, until a truth is revealed: Nathan’s upcoming novel, Infidelity, is based in fact.

Suddenly Sarah’s world is turned upside down. Adding to her confusion, Nathan abdicates responsibility for the fate of their relationship and of his novel’s publication—a financial lifesaver they have been depending upon—leaving both in Sarah’s hands. Reeling from his betrayal, she is plagued by dark questions. How well does she really know Nathan? And, more important, how well does she know herself?

For answers, Sarah looks back to her artistic twenty-something self to try to understand what happened to her dreams. When did it all seem to change? Pushed from her complacent plateau, Sarah begins to act—for the first time not so responsibly—on all the things she has let go of for so long: her blank computer screen; her best friend, Helen; the volumes of Proust on her bookshelf. And then there is that e-mail in her inbox: a note from Rajiv, a beautiful man from her past who once tempted her to stray. The struggle to find which version of herself is the essential one—artist, wife, or mother—takes Sarah hundreds of miles away from her marriage on a surprising journey.

Wise, funny, and sharply drawn, Leah Stewart’s Husband and Wife probes our deepest relationships, the promises we make and break, and the consequences they hold for our lives, revealing that it’s never too late to step back and start over.

Waiting on Wednesday – Feb. 10




Mrs. Somebody Somebody
by Tracy Winn


Goodreads synopsis:
On the banks of the Merrimack River at the close of World War II, a young mill worker dreams of marrying rich and finally becoming Mrs. Somebody Somebody. But that dream is complicated–not only for her but for all of Lowell, which is changing rapidly as the

twentieth century progresses, and which Winn chronicles perfectly in a series of lives brushing up against one another. She writes from the perspective of mill owners and union organizers, hard-working immigrants and overindulged children, and weaves them together to create a brilliant portrait of a place.

In the tradition of Richard Russo and Elizabeth Strout, Winn captures the heart of industrial America, making it come alive with her absolutely stunning prose.


Mrs. Somebody Somebody: Fiction

Pub. date: June 8th 2010 by Random House Trade Paperbacks

May books

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson
Shelter Me by Juliette Fay
Mating Rituals of the North American WASP by Lauren Lipton
April & Oliver by Tess Callahan
Just Breathe by Susan Wiggs
Home Safe by Elizabeth Berg
Irresistible by Susan Mallery
The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan
Cutting Loose by Nadine Dajani
The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Favorites of the month in red

April Books

Too Good To Be True by Kristan Higgins
Espresso Shot by Cleo Coyle
Feels Like Family by Sherryl Woods
The Lost Recipe for Happiness by Barbara O’Neal
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
The Inn at Eagle Point by Sherryl Woods
Thanks For the Memories by Cecelia Ahern
The Long Walk Home by Will North
Eating Heaven by Jennie Shortridge
Montana Creeds: Dylan by Linda Lael Miller
Everyone is Beautiful by Katherine Center
Sweet Love by Sarah Strohmeyer

Favorites of the month in red.  

March Books

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister
It Had to Be You by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Temptation Ridge by Robyn Carr
Montana Creeds: Logan by Linda Lael Miller
Rubies in the Orchard by Lynda Resnick with Francis Wilkinson
Knit Two by Kate Jacobs
Hot by Julia Harper
Buffalo Lockjaw by Greg Ames
A Slice of Heaven by Sherryl Woods
The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sansom
Catholics by Brian Moore
Paradise Valley by Robyn Carr
* Favorite of the month

February 2009 Books


Welcome to the World, Baby Girl by Fannie Flagg
Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
The Sixteen Pleasures by Robert Hellenga
Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah
Second Chance Pass by Robyn Carr
Philosophy Made Simple by Robert Hellenga
Hard Eight by Janet Evanovich
Snowbound by Janice Kay Johnson
The Girl She Used to Be by David Cristofano

Adriana Trigiani

I read and reviewed Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani here. I loved the book which is in bookstores today. Here’s the author on the Today Show this morning:

Sorry, the video expired. You can do a Very Valentine search on YouTube and see a few different videos.

January Books

Books read in January 2009:

Shelter Mountain – Robyn Carr
The Piano Teacher – Janice Y.K. Lee
Whispering Rock – Robyn Carr
The Shell Seekers – Rosamunde Pilcher
A Virgin River Christmas – Robyn Carr
Last Days of Summer – Steve Kluger
Houston, We Have a Problema – Gwendolyn Zepeda
The Invisible Wall – Harry Bernstein
Stealing Home – Sherryl Woods
Foreign Affairs – Alison Lurie
The Rock Orchard – Paula Wall
Fireside – Susan Wiggs

Favorites:
The Shell Seekers
Last Days of Summer
The Rock Orchard

November Books

Tied to the Tracks (Lippi)
Seven Up (Evanovich)
Austenland (Hale)
Rocket Man (Hazelgrove)
Sweet Life (King)
The Whore’s Child and Other Stories (Russo)
The Uncommon Reader (Bennett)
Mystery Ride (Boswell)
Dockside (Wiggs)
On A Snowy Night (Macomber)
Heart of Texas Vol 1 (Macomber)
Heart of Texas Vol 2 (Macomber)

Tied to the Tracks was my favorite book this month.