Book Beginnings on Fridays

Please join Rose City Reader every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author.

♦  ♦  ♦

I’m reading Next to Love by Ellen Feldman. I’m about 50 pages in. I haven’t gotten to the real meat of the story yet but so far, I’m enjoying it.

For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress, and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War II and its aftermath.  (from the Goodreads synopsis)

July 17, 1944

In the year and a half Babe Huggins has worked for Western Union, she has been late only once before. Maybe that’s why in the months to come she will occasionally persuade herself that some premonition delayed her this morning.

Book Beginnings on Fridays

Please join Rose City Reader every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author.

I’m reading An Impartial Witness by Charles Todd. It’s the second book in the Bess Crawford Mystery series. As you can see in the sidebar to the right, I’m reading the series as part of a Read-Along. I really enjoyed the first book in the series so I have high hopes for An Impartial Witness. I’m only a couple of chapters in and well on my way to finding out whodunit.

Early Summer, 1917

As my train pulled into London, I looked out at the early summer rain and was glad to see the dreary day had followed me from Hampshire. It suited my mood.

I had only thirty-six hours here. And I intended to spend them in bed, catching up on lost sleep. The journey from France with the latest convoy of wounded had been trying.

Back of the book synopsis:

In the early summer of 1917, Bess Crawford is charged with escorting a convoy of severely wounded soldiers from the trenches of France to England. Among them is a young pilot, burned beyond recognition, who carries a photograph of his wife pinned to his tunic. But later, in a crowded railway station, Bess sees the same woman bidding a heart-wrenching farewell to a departing officer, clearly not her husband.

Back on duty in France, Bess is shocked to discover the wife’s photograph in a newspaper accompanying a plea from Scotland Yard for information about her murder, which took place on the very day Bess witnessed that anguished farewell. Granted leave to speak with the authorities, Bess very quickly finds herself entangled in a case of secrets and deadly betrayal in which another life hangs in the balance, and her search for the truth could expose her to far graver dangers than those she faces on the battlefield.

Book Beginnings on Fridays

 Please join Rose City Reader every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author.

I’m reading More Than You Know by Penny Vincenzi:

1971

It was nearly over then. By this time tomorrow it would be settled.

I’m only 22 pages in but I think I’ll enjoy this novel. It’s the first by Vincenzi I’ve read. If you’ve read any of her other books do you have a favorite?