Cover Reveal: The Secret Book of Flora Lea

 

Cover reveal! Behold THE SECRET BOOK OF FLORA LEA by New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan Henry – Patti Callahan. The award-winning author of Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis delivers an enchanting story that Christina Baker Kline calls “transporting, heartfelt, and atmospheric” and that Jamie Ford describes as “a fantastical tale of myth, wartime history, and true heartache.” Mark your calendars and start planning your Spring 2023 reading early. THE SECRET BOOK OF FLORA LEA will be in stores everywhere on May 2, 2023 from Atria Books.


SYNOPSIS: When a woman stumbles across a mysterious children’s book, long-held secrets about her missing sister and their childhood spent in the English countryside during World War II are revealed in this “gripping, magical tale” (Fiona Davis) from the New York Times bestselling author of Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis.

1939: Fourteen-year-old Hazel and five-year-old Flora evacuate their London home for a rural village to escape the horrors of the Second World War. Living with the Aberdeen family in a charming stone cottage, Hazel distracts her young sister with a fairy tale about a magical land, a secret place they can escape to that is all their own: Whisperwood.

But the unthinkable happens when Flora suddenly vanishes after playing near the banks of the River Thames. Shattered, Hazel blames herself for her sister’s disappearance, carrying the guilt into adulthood.

Twenty years later, Hazel is back in London, ready to move on from her job at a cozy rare bookstore for a career at Sotheby’s. With a cherished boyfriend and an upcoming Paris getaway, Hazel’s future seems set. But her tidy life is turned upside down when she unwraps a package containing a picture book called Whisperwood and the River of Stars. Hazel never told a soul about the storybook world she created just for Flora. Could this book hold the secrets to Flora’s disappearance? Could it be a sign that her beloved sister is still alive after all these years? Or is something sinister at play?

For fans of Kate Morton, Janet Skeslien Charles, and Kristin Hannah, this is a “lyrical and supremely satisfying” (Paula McLain) celebration of sisterhood and the magic of storytelling wrapped up in a “heartrending, captivating tale of family, first love, and fate” (Kristin Harmel).


More info at the publisher’s website


5 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: The Secret Book of Flora Lea

    • Thanks, Laurel. I can’t wait to read it. I’ve enjoyed the author’s historical fiction novels (as well as her earlier Women’s Fiction).

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.