Dear Emmie Blue

Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

Published:  July 14, 2020 – Atria/Emily Bestler Books

E-galley courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley

Description:

At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached addressed, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over. (publisher)

My take:  I don’t consider myself the intended reader (demographic) for this novel but I love a good RomCom so accepted the offer to read – and I’m so glad I did. I thought the start was a bit slow but maybe that was just me getting to know several characters. The novel picked up speed as I got to know Emmie, Lucas, and his brother. By the end I really cared about these characters. A plus was that I loved most of the supporting characters and I’d truly love to know what happens with Emmie’s work friends!

Lia Louis’ novel is full of hopes and dreams and written with so much heart. I love turning the last page of a novel while smiling and knowing I’m going to miss these people.


About the author:

Lia Louis lives in the United Kingdom with her partner and three young children. Before raising a family, she worked as a freelance copywriter and proofreader. She was the 2015 winner of Elle magazine’s annual writing competition and has been a contributor for Bloomsbury’s Writers and Artist’s blog for aspiring writers. She is the author of Somewhere Close to Happy and Dear Emmie Blue.

Twitter: @LisforLia

Instagram: @lialouisauthor


Praise for DEAR EMMIE BLUE:

“Like My Best Friend’s Wedding plus an unfairly gorgeous Frenchwoman, mixtapes, and miles of inside jokes, Louis’s latest novel blends all the highs of a romantic comedy with the lows of one woman’s complicated family history. Fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (2017) by Gail Honeyman will adore Emmie’s journey of self-discovery. Exploring that feeling of being left behind as everyone else appears to be moving on to bigger and better things, Dear Emmie Blue will resonate long after readers turn the last page.” Booklist

 

“DEAR EMMIE BLUE has everything–it oozes charm and wit and speaks beautifully about friendship and love, and the differences between the two. The British Marian Keyes
– Laura Pearson, author of I WANTED YOU TO KNOW

 

“An absolute treasure of a book. A love story to cherish.”
– Michelle Adams, author of MY SISTER

 

“DEAR EMMIE BLUE is the new Eleanor Oliphant. Deftly crafted descriptions and characters who jump off the page and drag you into the story. I loved every moment of it.”
– Bella Osborne, author of A WALK IN WILDFLOWER PARK

 

“I loved it so much. Such a perfectly crafted story that made my heart swell. So many parts gave me a severe case of goosebumps. Emmie is fabulously funny and real, and wow – that ending was perfect. People will not be able to resist Emmie Blue.”
– Jessica Ryn, author of THE EXTRAORDINARY HOPE OF DAWN BRIGHTSIDE

 

“This book is f**king perfect, buy it now.”
– Julia Whelan, critically-acclaimed author of MY OXFORD YEAR

 

“Beautifully captures the heartache and frustrations of carrying our teenaged selves with us wherever we go, and yet we would never be without them. LOVED IT.”
– Anstey Harris, author of GOODBYE PARIS

 

“This gorgeous and clever book is a heartfelt story about love and friendship, which certainly didn’t end the way I expected. Fresh and funny writing, with a heroine (and heroes!) I adored.”
– Holly Miller, author of THE SIGHT OF YOU

 

“I will happily read every word Lia Louis ever writes, from novels to shopping lists, this is a very special book by a very special writer. DEAR EMMIE BLUE is sweet, sparkling and heartwarming, the perfect book to remind you dreams can come true.”
– Lindsey Kelk, internationally bestselling author of ONE IN A MILLION


BUY LINKS

Hardcover:

·         Amazon

·         Barnes & Noble

·         Books-a-Million

·         IndieBound

eBook:

·         Amazon’s Kindle Store

·         Barnes & Noble

·         Books-a-Million

·         Google eBookstore