Spotlight/US Giveaway: The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine

the house between tides (Atria 8:2)

Description:

Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves her strained relationship behind in London and returns to Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland’s Outer Hebrides. Hetty has every intention of renovating and reselling it as a hotel, but before she can dive headfirst into the repairs, century-old remains are discovered by the house’s caretaker, with few physical clues left to identify the body. Only one thing is certain: he or she did not die of natural causes.

Hungry for answers, Hetty sets out to learn more about the body and the house’s owners from the 1910s, including her ancestor, Theo Blake, an acclaimed painter who returned to Muirlan to paint the local birds, and his new bride, Beatrice, who fell for Theo’s brilliance, even as she grew increasingly disturbed by his fascination with a local boy.

Following whispered rumors and a handful of leads, Hetty learns that something ruptured in the Blake’s marriage, forcing Beatrice to leave the country and Theo to withdraw from society. The exact cause has never been known, but as Hetty studies the paintings produced by Theo during his short-lived marriage, she uncovers secrets that will reverberate throughout the community – and lead her to the identity of the long-hidden body.

Sarah Maine is a compelling new voice in women’s fiction – her prose is rich and lyrical, and her storytelling is immersive. THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES (Atria Trade Paperback; is on sale now; ISBN: 9781501126918; $16) is a debut novel written with the command of a veteran author and is a perfect read for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, and Ellen Marie Wiseman’s What She Left Behind.


About the author:

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to the United Kingdom to study archaeology. She now lives in York with her family. The House Between Tides is her debut novel.


Praise for THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES:

“Scotland’s Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut… [a] beautifully crafted novel.” – Publisher’s Weekly

“Delivering details at a perfectly suspenseful pace… the historic mystery will keep readers guessing right up until the end.” – Booklist

“An eerie odyssey that would be right at home in the pages of the pulpy Warren comics.” – Kirkus Reviews


US Giveaway

Please click the link and fill out the form

Giveaway has ended

the house between tides (Atria 8:2)

Giveaway ends August 8th, 2016 (it’s a quick one!)

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Spotlight/US Giveaway: The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine

  1. Gosh, the authors Sarah Maine is compared to are some of my absolute favorites. This sounds like a gorgeous book.

    Like

Comments are closed.