Treadmill reads: Life From Scratch by Melissa Ford

life from scratch

Synopsis:  Divorced, heartbroken and living in a lonely New York apartment with a tiny kitchen, Rachel Goldman realizes she doesn’t even know how to cook the simplest meal for herself. Can learning to fry an egg help her understand where her life went wrong? She dives into the culinary basics. Then she launches a blog to vent her misery about love, life and her goal of an unburnt casserole.To her amazement, the blog’s a hit. She becomes a minor celebrity. Next, a sexy Spaniard enters her life. Will her souffles stop falling? Will she finally forget about the husband she still loves? And how can she explain to her readers that she still hasn’t learned how to cook up a happy life from scratch?

My take:  This novel about a thirty-something foodie blogger trying to figure out life after divorce was a fun, breezy read. As a blogger it was easy to understand the technical blogging aspects of the story and as a woman it was easy to relate to some of Rachel’s issues.

Melissa Ford wrote a heroine who’s easy to sympathize with and cheer for – until I scratched my head near the end of the novel and wondered how she wound up in her situation. I mean, she comes across as a smart, modern, and savvy woman but really dropped the ball a few years earlier where her relationship was concerned. I suppose her life since showed a path of growth so her story could be considered a cautionary tale.

Anyway, I still cheered for Rachel at the book’s end and would definitely read more from Melissa Ford. I liked her writing style and secondary characters – which made me hope for a sequel.

  • Title:  Life From Scratch: a novel
  • Author:  Melissa Ford
  • Genre:  Contemporary Fiction
  • Published:  July 2010 – Belle Books
  • Source:  I bought it
17 thoughts on “Treadmill reads: Life From Scratch by Melissa Ford

  1. I loooved this one. I think I really connected to her. But I think that has a lot to do with our place in life.

    Like

  2. I think I would like this one. I also like books about bloggers, and when you mix food with that, it’s sure to be a hit with me! I need to see if I can grab this one. It looks like a fun and breezy read. Nice job with the review today!

    Like

  3. Grief and here was me thinking I was bad in the kitchen …… at least I can manage a fried egg.

    Seriously though, this sounds like such a fun read and I love the idea of the blogger aspect.

    Like

  4. I liked this one as well Mary. I actually thought it was non-fiction until the end when I realized this was not the authors story! It read like a true story to me. You wrote a nice review!

    Like

  5. I reviewed this one back in 2010 and really enjoyed it, apparently there’s a sequel … must look into it. Nice review

    Like

Comments are closed.