Mailbox Monday

November host: Kathy at BermudaOnion

After seeing numerous tweets and blog reviews about The Art Forger I bought the audiobook.

Goodreads synopsis: On March 18, 1990, thirteen works of art today worth over $500 million were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. It remains the largest unsolved art heist in history, and Claire Roth, a struggling young artist, is about to discover that there’s more to this crime than meets the eye. Making a living reproducing famous artworks for a popular online retailer and desperate to improve her situation, Claire is lured into a Faustian bargain with Aiden Markel, a powerful gallery owner. She agrees to forge a painting–a Degas masterpiece stolen from the Gardner Museum–in exchange for a one-woman show in his renowned gallery. But when that very same long-missing Degas painting is delivered to Claire’s studio, she begins to suspect that it may itself be a forgery. Her desperate search for the truth leads Claire into a labyrinth of deceit where secrets hidden since the late nineteenth century may be the only evidence that can now save her life.

Goodreads synopsis: Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin are sure to fall in love with Katherine Center’s most heartwarming and engaging novel yet-about how even losing the most important thing in your life can help you find yourself again.

After the sudden loss of her husband in a car crash, Libby Moran falls on hard times-so hard, in fact, that she’s forced to move in with her hyper-critical mother. There, sleeping on the pull-out sofa so her two children can share the guest room, she can’t stop longing for the life she had. So when a letter arrives from Libby’s estranged aunt offering her a job and a place to live on her goat farm, Libby jumps at the opportunity. But starting over is never easy. With an aunt who is nothing like she imagined, a shaggy farm manager with a tragic past, a psychic at the feed store who claims to be able to contact the dead, and a bully at her daughter’s school, country life isn’t at all what Libby expected. But it also offers her what no other place can: A chance to define the good life for herself. A chance to piece together the mysteries of her own past. A chance, even, at love. And, finally, a chance to bring herself, and her family, back to life.

Goodreads synopsis: At Madeline’s Tea Salon, the cozy hub of the Avalon community, local residents scrapbook their memories and make new ones. But across town, other Avalonians are struggling to free themselves of the past: Isabel Kidd is fixing up her ramshackle house while sorting through the complications of her late husband’s affair. Ava Catalina is mourning the love of her life and helping her young son grow up without his father. Local plumber Yvonne Tate is smart, beautiful, and new to Avalon, but finds that despite a decade of living life on her own terms, the past has a way of catching up—no matter where she goes. And Frances Latham, mother to a boisterous brood of boys, eagerly anticipates the arrival of a little girl from China—unprepared for the emotional roller coaster of foreign adoption.

Enter Bettie Shelton, the irascible founder of the Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society. Under Bettie’s guidance, even the most reluctant of Avalon’s residents come to terms with their past and make bold decisions about their future. But when the group receives unexpected news about their steadfast leader, they must pull together to create something truly memorable.

What was in your mailbox?

Advertisements

31 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. OH, I’ve so lusted after The Art Forger. Enjoy!!! The Avalon Ladies should get here soon. I won it from LT. Have a wonderful week, Mary.

    Like

  2. These boosk all sound great Mary. Thanks for brining them to our attention. I received a book I won from a blog I visit everyday. The Trouble with cowboys by Melissa Cutler. She is a new to me author and I am looking forward to reading her book. From the library I received A Season of Angels by Thomas Kincade and Katherine Spencer. I think this was one of the last books he was working on before he died.

    Like

  3. I do want The Art Forger and this is the first I’ve heard of The Lost Husband so now I need that one too. ::sigh:: 😉

    Like

  4. The Lost Husband sounds like an emotional read but I can’t wait to see what you think of The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society, I’ve been eyeing it off.

    Like

Comments are closed.