‘Twas the Night After Christmas by Sabrina Jeffries

Title:  ‘Twas the Night After Christmas

#6 Hellions of Halstead Hall (works fine as a stand alone)

Author:  Sabrina Jeffries

Genre:  Historical Romance – Christmas

Published:  October 2012 – Gallery Books

Synopsis:  Pierce Waverly, the Earl of Devonmont, has been estranged from his mother for most of his life. When his mother’s new companion, Mrs. Camilla Stuart, writes to tell him that his mother is seriously ill, he goes home. But when he learns that the lovely widow tricked him in order to effect a holiday reconciliation, he refuses to stay—unless she meets his “terms.” Somewhere between trying to seduce the beautiful Camilla and struggling with the cruel memories of his childhood Christmases, Pierce discovers that not only does forgiveness go two ways, but that love can blossom even in the coldest of winters.

My take:  ‘Twas the Night After Christmas is Sabrina Jeffries’ newest addition to the Hellions of Halstead Hall series. I have the first book but haven’t read it yet. As it turns out, I don’t think one needs to have read the previous five books to enjoy this book.

I think what I liked most about this novel is the theme of forgiveness and that it helps the person who forgives even more than the one forgiven. Pierce Waverly has no intention of forgiving his mother. She turned her back on him when he was a young boy which made him the man he has become: someone who refuses to commit to any woman lest she leave him too. He will maintain control in any situation. That all goes out the window when he meets his mother’s companion, Mrs. Camilla Stuart. Because of her own childhood and circumstances since – she’s a widow with a young son, Camilla understands him in a way no other person has before. But she also understands how a mother would do anything to protect her child.

I enjoyed the humor and energy Jeffries’ characters shared. It made the pages fly as I had to see how it would all turn out. It was also fun to see how the poem The Night Before Christmas worked into the novel.

Near the end there’s a new character introduced that I subsequently learned will be in an upcoming series. I’m looking forward to The Duke’s Men.

I recommend ‘Twas the Night After Christmas to fans of Historical Romance and HR with a Christmas theme.

Disclosure:  I received my copy from the publisher. I was not compensated for my review.

15 thoughts on “‘Twas the Night After Christmas by Sabrina Jeffries

    • That’s ok, Diane. HR isn’t for everyone. But what genre is? I’m not a big mystery/thriller fan so Patterson’s books don’t appeal to me as they do to some.

      Like

  1. I enter into reading your review cautiously because… I am not ready for Christmas reads… 🙂 I think I am in denial that we are in our second week of November already and like it or not… winter is coming. 🙂 Eventually I need to let go of Fall… and start looking forward to spring! 🙂

    Like

  2. This one sounds sweet. I can’t believe it’s already time for Christmas reads but all I really have to do is look outside and it hits home. We’ve gotten so much snow already. Anyhow I’ve got a few Christmas reads that I vow to get to this year.

    Like

    • Dar, I think I’ll be ready for snow late in the evening on Dec. 24th 😉
      A good Christmas read would make the early snow much more enjoyable!

      Like

  3. I have this book on my holiday tbr list… I just started my first Christmas novel this week. As it has to go back to the library by Sunday… I don’t usually start this early, But I have so many, I had better get started on my Christmas books..

    Like

    • Kathleen, in past years I’ve waited until the end of November to begin reading Christmas books but this year it seemed they were published in September and October. Maybe I didn’t notice before. Oh well, I’ve enjoyed the ones I’ve read so far 🙂

      Like

  4. Honestly, I think I’m sick of Christmas decorations already and haven’t even started any Christmas reading. Pretty soon, the stores will start Christmas in July. Glad you enjoyed the book, Mary.

    Like

    • With the exception of seeing a few items at a Maine Macy’s in September I haven’t paid attention. But I also haven’t gone to some of the major stores yet. I’m avoiding them until after Thanksgiving.
      Re Christmas in July – that will encourage people (or me, at least) to shop online 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.