The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber

Title:  The Inn at Rose Harbor

Author:  Debbie Macomber

Genre:  Women’s Fiction; Series

Published:  July 2012 – Ballantine Books

Hardcover: 352 pages

My take:  Jo Marie Rose suffered an excruciating loss and, because of that loss, she’s started on a new path in life. She has become the new owner of an inn in Cedar Cove, Washington.

Debbie Macomber really sets the tone for her new series. I wasn’t sure she could pull me in when I’d already read the complete Cedar Cove series. She does let characters make brief appearances in TIARH but she doesn’t let them take over. The stars of this first book are Jo Marie and her first two guests to stay at the inn:  Josh Weaver and Abby Kincaid.

Josh Weaver is back in Cedar Cove to see his estranged stepfather, Richard, who is literally on his deathbed. Richard kicked Josh out of the house weeks before his high school graduation. Now, over ten years later, Josh comes home to make sure he can find some of his deceased mother’s things before the house can be sold. What he didn’t expect was to meet an old classmate who could be instrumental in helping Josh come to terms with a few things life has thrown at him.

Abby Kincaid hasn’t been back to her hometown in many years. Her parents no longer live there and Abby hoped never to return after a tragic accident took her best friend. She carries a lot of guilt over that event and doesn’t think she’ll ever forgive herself much less be forgiven by many people in Cedar Cove. When her brother announces his wedding to a girl from Cedar Cove, Abby knows she can’t avoid going back home.

What the main characters in this novel have in common is a need to attain some peace in their lives. Debbie Macomber’s new series is a winner for me. I love tales of redemption and she is one of the best at writing them. If you’re a fan of hers I think you’ll enjoy The Inn at Rose Harbor.

Note: I bought the short story When First They Met before reading this book. It fleshes out the story of Jo Marie before she bought the inn. You don’t have to read it (you’ll get bits and pieces in The Inn at Rose Harbor) but I’m glad I did because it was an emotional introduction to Jo Marie. Her empathy for others will definitely be felt in this series.

Source:  Publisher via NetGalley

Disclosure:  See sidebar. I was not compensated for my review.

29 thoughts on “The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber

  1. I am a fan of Debbie Macomber’s books and am listening to A Turn in the Road on audio book at the moment. I love the Blossom Street series and the Cedar Cove although I have not yet finished this series yet. I am so glad to hear that this was a winner for you. I have an ebook from Netgalley as well so I look forward to reading it.

    Like

    • Bonnie, you can get the short prequel for $.99 at amazon. I recommend it because it gives an emotional back story to the main character’s motivation. This book talks about it but I’m glad I read When First They Met before TIARH.

      Like

  2. Macomber spoke at BEA and I was totally charmed by her. I’ve never read her work but I’m glad to see this is the start of a new series. Maybe I can get in on the ground floor of this one.

    Like

  3. I have been waiting for this book to hit my library.. I have it on hold and I also bought the prequel on my kindle…I love Debbie’s books.. She puts such heart and soul into her characters… Makes for good reading.

    Like

  4. Macomber is an author that I haven’t tried yet, and with so many books out there, I am unsure where to start. I need to find the right place with her, and just go forward from there. Thanks for the excellent and very insightful review.

    Like

  5. Oh good – I have this book but haven’t started it yet. Good to know about the short story. I’ll probably hunt that up and read it first. Thanks for the tip.

    I haven’t read all of her books but I’ve loved both the Cedar Cove series and the Blossom Street series.

    Initially I was sad to hear she was ending the Cedar Cove series but I think she wrapped it up well and that she was right to do so. I was thrilled to see another series set there. Good to hear you like it.

    Like

    • I was sad to see the Cedar Cove series end, as well, even though I thought it’d run it’s course 😉 Hope you enjoy the new book!

      Like

  6. I’ve read only one book by Macomber, and I liked it. It was a feel good book with great characters. I love the cover of this one, and your review would have me try it at a later date.

    Like

  7. I’ve only read one book by Debbie and for some reason or other, I just haven’t gotten around to any others. Glad you enjoyed this one Mary. Sounds like buying the short story was a good move. Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  8. I enjoy Debbie’s books and I hope to read this one at some point. I have all the Cedar Cove books although I haven’t has a chance to read any of them yet. Same old story as usual – not enough time to read my own collection of books. Lol.

    Like

  9. An author I’ve yet to read as I hear so many good things about her books. Not wanting to buy any more books this year I keep requesting her books at the library but she obviously isn’t too well know (read?) here in the north east of England as they don’t stock a single one of her novels. Oh well, I suppose there’s always the charity shops or failing that Christmas.

    Anyway, great review, I’m glad this proved a winner.

    Like

  10. I love tales of redemption too and her books have always been good comforting reads for me. I do have this one hold at the library waiting for later in the year to read it! Wonderful review!

    Like

Comments are closed.